Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Since 1982 the Arizona Homeschool Law has undergone quite a few major changes making it easier for families to homeschool. In the 1990’s various House and Senate Bills were passed to lift regulations on homeschoolers. Today the regulations are fairly low making Arizona a homeschool friendly state.
Required Age of Attendance
The state of Arizona requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
- charter school
In Arizona homeschool is defined as “a nonpublic school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child or nonpublic instruction provided in the child’s home.”
NOTE: If you have a child that you intend to homeschool and you would like to wait until they are 8 years old to begin you can send in an affidavit of intent form (see below) informing the superintendent of this decision.
(See legal references 1 & 2)
Notify the School District
The Arizona Homeschool Law requires you to file an affidavit of intent with your county school superintendent stating that you intend to homeschool your child. This affidavit of intent must be filed within 30 days from the time that you begin to homeschool. You only need to file this affidavit once. This affidavit must be notarized if you will be mailing it in, otherwise most county superintendents will have a notary service in their homeschool office. Most counties will also ask for an original or certified copy of your child’s birth certificate.
NOTE: Each county in Arizona has jurisdiction over the homeschool families within its borders. Therefore requirements may vary slightly from county to county. Most Arizona county websites have their own affidavit of intent for you to print off and fill out.
NOTE: If you choose to stop homeschooling and enroll your child in a public school then you must file another affidavit of intent to the county superintendent within 30 days after the change has taken place.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is currently enrolled in a public school and you need to withdraw them to begin homeschooling then contact the school and let them know that you will be keeping your child home and sending in an affidavit.
Moving From One Arizona County To Another
If you move from one Arizona county to another you must file an Affidavit of Intent to Homeschool in your new county of residence. They will also require a copy of your child’s certified birth certificate or other accepted proof of birth. Make sure you notify your previous county in writing that you are no longer homeschooling in that county.
(See legal reference 3)
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to educate your child(ren) at home.
Hours of Instruction
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific amount of hoursday or days/year.
The Arizona Homeschool Law requires that you teach the following 5 subjects as part of your homeschool curriculum;
- social studies
NOTE: The state of Arizona will not require you to show proof that you teach these subjects.
(See legal reference 4)
NOTE: The state of Arizona requires public schools to allow homeschool students to participate in interscholastic activities.
(See legal reference 5)
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records.
Immunization Laws For Arizona Homeschoolers
The state of Arizona does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate their children. Immunization requirements only apply to public, private or parochial schools.
(See legal reference 6)
Helpful Websites For Arizona Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit this Arizona homeschool website:
- Required Age of Attendance: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (A).
- Definition of homeschool: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (G-2).
- Affidavit of Intent: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (2-3).
- Required subjects: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (A).
- Homeschoolers allowed to participate in interscholastic activities: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802-01.
- Immunizations: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-871 (10 & 12).
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.