Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law has been in effect since 1985. Since then two important bills, House Bill 1157 (1997) and House Bill 1381 (2015), have reduced the original requirements on homeschoolers. Today the regulations on homeschoolers are fairly low even though some correspondence with the school district is required.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of Arkansas requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 5* to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
- parochial school
In Arkansas homeschool is defined as “a school provided by a parent or legal guardian for his or her own child.”
*NOTE: You have the option to hold your child back a year if your child is 5 years old on August 1 and you would like to wait until they are 6 to begin their schooling. Simply file a signed kindergarten waiver form with your local school district’s administrative office. If necessary follow this tutorial for how-to steps.
(See legal reference 1)
Notify The School District
The Arkansas Homeschool Law requires y0u to file a notice of intent and waiver form with the superintendent of your local school district. This written notice must be given in person the first time that it is filed. You must notify the superintendent and sign the waiver before August 15th and every year that you homeschool.
NOTE: If you decided to homeschool your child at a random time within the year than you must notify the superintendent and sign the waiver 14 calendar days prior to withdrawing your child (unless the superintendent gives you permission to withdraw them sooner than 14 days). If you decide to homeschool at the beginning of the spring semester than you have until December 15th, instead of August 15th, to notify the superintendent and sign the waiver for the next school year.
NOTE: If you are moving to a new school district within Arkansas you must notify the new superintendent and sign the waiver within 30 calendar days of establishing your residency.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a list of specific educational subjects.
However, on the Notice of Intent form the state will ask you for a brief description of the basic core curriculum you will be using and a list of the subjects you will be teaching.
Hours of Instruction
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific amount of hours.
However, on the Notice of Intent form the state will ask you to describe your schedule plan for homeschooling including hours per day, days per week, and number of weeks.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
However, on the Notice of Intent Form the state will ask you for your highest level of education.
NOTE: The state of Arkansas will not allow you to homeschool a child if there is a sex offender living in your home.
(See legal reference 2)
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require homeschool you to keep records.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
However, on the Notice of Intent Form the state will ask you to report what grade level your child completed during the last school calendar year.
Immunization Law For Arkansas Homeschoolers
The state of Arkansas does not require homeschoolers to receive vaccinations. The immunization requirements only apply to public and private schools.
(See legal reference 3)
Helpful Websites For Arkansas Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Arkansas homeschool websites:
- Age of Required Attendance: Arkansas Code Annotated 6-18-201.
- Homeschooling prohibited if a sex offender resides in your home: Arkansas Code Annotated 6-15-508.
- Immunization requirement: Arkansas Code Annotated 6-18-702.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.