Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschooling has been legal in Colorado since 1973. Over the years amendments have been made to the law making it more favorable for parents to educate their children at home.
Required Age of Attendance
The state of Colorado requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 6* to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- an independent or parochial school home-based study program
- a private tutor
*NOTE: The Colorado Homeschool Law requires those who choose the homeschool option to only give notice for their children who are 6 to 16 years old and teaching does not need to begin until your child is 7 years old.
(See Legal Reference 1)
Notify The School
The Colorado Homeschool Law requires you to send a Letter of Intent notifying the school district that you will be educating your child at home. Send this letter 14 days before beginning to homeschool and every year that you will be homeschooling. The letter must contain the following information for each child that you homeschool:
- Your child’s first and last name
- The child’s age (NOT their grade level)
- Home/primary address
- The number of hours your child will be homeschooling this year
- Where you will submit your child’s standardized test or evaluation results (this only applies if this is a testing or evaluation year)
- Signature of the primary home school parent(s) or guardian(s)
(See legal reference 3; 3-e)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Colorado public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. To officially withdraw send in a Letter of Intent (see above) 14 days before homeschooling your child. You can also contact your child’s school and ask if they have an official withdrawal form for you to fill out.
The only qualification the Colorado Homeschool Law requires is that you must be a parent, legal guardian, or an adult relative designated by the parent, in order to legally homeschool a child.
(See legal reference 3; 2-a,b)
Hours of Instruction
The Colorado Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 172 days out of the year and an average of 4 hours per day.
(See legal reference 3; 3-c)
The Colorado Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 7 subjects as part of your homeschool curriculum:
- communication skills; reading, writing, speaking
- constitution of the United States
NOTE: These 7 subjects are a minimum standard.
(See legal reference 2 and 3; 3-d)
The Colorado Homeschool Law requires you to keep records for each child that you homeschool. These records must include:
- attendance data
- test and evaluation results
- immunization records
NOTE: You may be required to submit your records to the Superintendent of your school district if they have cause to believe that you are not following the requirements of the Colorado Homeschool Law.
(See legal reference 3; 3-g)
The Colorado Homeschool Law requires that each child participating in homeschool participate in testing or an evaluation at grades 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11 (i.e. every other year). You can fulfill this requirement in one of two ways:
- Have your child take a nationally standardized achievement test, or
- Have your child evaluated by a qualified person (i.e. a licensed teacher, an independent or parochial school teacher, a licensed psychologist, or a person with a graduate degree in education).
The test scores or evaluation results must be sent to the same school district that received your letter of intent. They will use these scores/results to evaluate your child’s educational progress.
Students who take a standardized test must score a 13% or higher to continue homeschooling.
Students who are evaluated must be making sufficient academic progress for their grade level to continue homeschooling.
Failure to meet these standards will give the school district reason to enroll a student in public school. Students are allowed one opportunity to retest before a change is made.
(See legal reference 3; 3-f)
Immunization Law For Colorado Homeschoolers
The state of Colorado requires homeschoolers to vaccinate their children. You must also keep record of your child’s immunizations and submit them to the superintendent of your school district if they are asked for.
(See legal reference 4)
Helpful Websites For Colorado Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Colorado homeschool websites:
- Age of Required Attendance: C.R.S. 22-33-104 (1-a) & (2-b,i).
- Required Subject-United States Constitution: C.R.S. 22-1-108.
- Home-based Education Statute: C.R.S. 22-33-104.5.
- Immunizations: C.R.S. 25-4-901, C.R.S. 25-4-902, C.R.S. 25-4-903.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.