Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschool has never been officially recognized or regulated by the state of Connecticut. Nevertheless parents in Connecticut have been homeschooling their children for decades based on the right given them in the law to “show that [their] child is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction in the studies taught in the public schools.”
(See legal reference 1)
Over the years there have been attempts to regulate homeschool but these attempts have never resulted in any revisions to the law. In 1990 the Connecticut Board of Education created a list of suggestions for homeschoolers. These “Suggested Procedures of Home Instruction” were meant to help homeschool parents avoid truancy charges. Homeschool parents who choose to not comply with the list of suggestions must be prepared to show proof that their child is receiving an “equivalent education” if they are ever questioned by authorities.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of Connecticutrequires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 7 and 17 years old unless, the parent or guardian can show proof of the child receiving an equivalent education.
NOTE: Originally the law applied to children between 5 and 18 years old but in 1998 it was revised and updated to what it is currently.
(See legal reference 2)
Notify the School District
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to notify the school district that you have chosen to homeschool.
However, the law does require superintendents to report the name, age, and school attendance information for each resident child from 7 to 17 years old. The law also levies a small fine on parents who refuse to provide this information.
(See legal reference 3)
Therefore the Board of Education suggests that you file a Notice of Intent form within 10 days of beginning to homeschool. This notice of intent must be filed every year that you choose to homeschool. This notice of intent should include the following information:
- name of the teacher
- subjects taught
- days of instruction
- teacher’s method of assessment/testing
- assurance that an “equivalent instruction” will be provided
(See legal reference 2; a-e)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Connecticut public school than you must officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Fill out and send in a Letter of Withdrawal form before removing your child from school.
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
The Board of Education also does not suggest that you meet any specific qualifications.
Hours of Instruction
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to follow a set amount of days or hours of instruction.
The Board of Education also does not suggest that you follow a set amount of days or hours of instruction.
However, on the Notice of Intent form it asks you to declare how many days in the year you will be teaching your child at home. An average public school year is 180 days.
The Connecticut Homeschool Law requires you to teach “equivalent instruction in the studies taught in the public schools”. Therefore the Department of Education suggests that you teach the following 7 subjects:
- english grammar
- United States history and citizenship including a study of town, state, and federal governments
(See legal reference 1 and 2)
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
However, the Board of Education suggests that you keep a portfolio of your child’s education in order to conduct an annual portfolio review with a school official.
(See legal reference 1 and 2;f)
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require testing of homeschool students.
However, the Board of Education suggests that you and your school officials conduct an annual portfolio review to determine your child’s academic progress in the required courses.
(See legal reference 1 and 2;f)
The state of Connecticut does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate. Immunization requirements only apply to students who enroll in public school.
(See legal reference 4)
Helpful Websites For Connecticut Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Connecticut homeschool websites:
- Right of Parents to Prove Equivalent Education: Connecticut General Statute 10-184.
- List of Suggested Guidelines by Connecticut Board of Education: C-14 Guidelines.
- Superintendents required to collect student information: Connecticut General Statutes 10-249 & 10-251.
- Immunizations: Department of Public Health 10.1
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.