Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
“Home study programs” were permitted by law in the state of Georgia beginning in 1984. Then in 2013 the original regulations were slightly adjusted. Georgia House Bill 283 (section 23) lifted some of the previous requirements on homeschooling families. Today the Georgia Homeschool Law includes the following moderate regulations.
Required Age of Attendance
The state of Georgia requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
(See legal reference 1)
Notify the School District
The Georgia Homeschool Law requires you to file an online Declaration of Intent with the Department of Education in order to homeschool. You can begin a homeschool program anytime within the year. Submit your Declaration of Intent within 30 days of beginning to homeschool. This Declaration of Intent must be filed annually. Every year subsequent year that you choose to homeschool submit your Declaration of Intent before September 1st.
Alternatively you can submit a written Declaration of Intent as long as it includes the following information:
- name(s) and age(s) of child(ren) who will be homeschooling
- address where you will be homeschooling
- name of the local school district in which you reside
- the 12 month period that you will be schooling
- signature of the parent/guardian
NOTE: Make sure to keep a copy of your Declaration of Intent for your records.
(See legal reference 2; c-1,2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a public or private school than you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. First submit your Declaration of Intent to homeschool, then notify the school that you will be withdrawing your child. Be sure to ask the school if they have any withdraw forms for you to fill out.
The Georgia Homeschool Law requires you to have at least a High School Diploma or a General Education Diploma in order to homeschool. You can also hire a private tutor to teach your child as long as the tutor has at least a High School Diploma or a GED.
NOTE: You may only teach your own children.
(See legal reference 2; c-3)
Hours of Instruction
The Georgia Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 180 days within a 12 month school year. Each of those 180 days must consist of 4 and 1/2 hours of schooling, unless your child is physically unable to meet this requirement.
NOTE: The Georgia Homeschool Law does not require you to submit attendance information. You will not have to show proof to anyone that you kept the days/hours of instruction requirement.
(See legal reference 2; c-5)
The Georgia Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 5 subjects as part of their homeschool program:
- language arts
- social studies
NOTE: You are not limited to these 5 subjects only, just be sure to include them in your curriculum.
(See legal reference 2; c-4)
The Georgia Homeschool Law requires you to make an annual progress assessment report for each child that you homeschool. This yearly report must focus on the individual academic progress of each child in the 5 required educational subjects; reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. Keep this report in your records for 3 years after the year of assessment.
Make sure to also keep a copy of your Declaration of Intent and your child’s test scores in your homeschool records.
NOTE: The Georgia Homeschool Law does not require you to show your records to anyone. They are for your own benefit and are important to have for the very rare possibility that you could face charges of non-compliance.
(See legal reference 2; c-8)
The Georgia Homeschool Law requires homeschool students to take a nationally standardized test. This test must be taken every 3 years; 3rd, 6th, and 9th grade. This testing requirement is to evaluate your child’s educational progress. These tests must be administered by a trained person.
NOTE: The Georgia Homeschool Law does not require you to submit your child’s test results. They are for your benefit only.
(See legal reference 2; c-7)
Immunization Law For Georgia Homeschoolers
The state of Georgia does not require homeschool students to vaccinate. The immunization law only applies to children who enroll in school.
(See legal reference 3)
Helpful Websites For Georgia Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Georgia homeschool websites:
- Age of Required Attendance: Georgia Code 20-2-690.1.
- Requirements For Home Study Programs: Georgia Code 20-2-690.
- Immunizations: Georgia Code 20-2-771.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.