Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
The state of Illinois does not recognize homeschool as a legal schooling option. However in the case of People v. Levisen (1950) the supreme court of Illinois upheld the right of parents to educate their children at home operating as private schools. Since then no further legislation has been passed to regulate homeschooling.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of Illinoisrequires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 6 to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
- parochial school
NOTE: According to the state of Illinois an acceptable private or parochial school is one in which children are given an education equivalent to what they would receive from public school in the English language. As long as parents, who educate their child at home, meet this standard they can consider themselves an acceptable “private school” that is in compliance with the law.
(See legal reference 1)
Notify the School District
The Illinois Homeschool Law does not require you to notify the school district that you will be homeschooling their child.
However the Illinois State Board of Education does provide a homeschool registration form if you would like to send notice. Again this is not a requirement, but the form is available for you if you wish to use it.
NOTE: Consider these 8 reasons for why you should not register your homeschool with the state (article by Harvey Bluedorn).
Remember the choice to register or not is entirely up to you.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. You can withdraw your child at any time during the year. In order to withdraw your child follow these steps:
- Send in this Letter of Withdrawal.
- Keep your child home on the day indicated in your letter.
- Within 10 days of sending your first letter send in a Student Records Request Letter to obtain copies of your child’s school records.
If the school contacts you and asks you to do anything else then send in this Compliance Letter to assure them that you are acting within the law.
(See legal reference 2; 4 and 7)
The Illinois Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to educate your child(ren) at home.
Hours of Instruction
The Illinois Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a set amount of hours/day or days/year.
The Illinois Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 6 subjects:
- Language arts
- Biological and physical sciences
- Social sciences
- Fine arts
- Physical development and health
(See legal references 2-2 and 3)
The Illinois Homeschool Law does not require you to keep any records of your homeschooling.
The Illinois Homeschool Law does not require students who are educated at home to participate in testing.
The state of Illinois requires all children who enter school programs (i.e. public, private or parochial) to receive vaccinations. This applies to children who are receiving an education at home under the private school law.
NOTE: The Department of Education does not require you to show proof of your vaccinations.
(See legal reference 4)
Helpful Websites For Illinois Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Illinois homeschool websites
Illinois H.O.U.S.E. (Home Oriented Unique Schooling Experience)
- Age of Required Attendance and Exemption: 105 ILCS 5 26-1 (1).
- Answers to Questions About Homeschool: Illinois State Board of Education Homeschool PDF.
- Required Subjects: 105 ILCS 5 27 (1).
- Immunizations: 105 ILCS 5 27 (8.1).
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.