Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschooling is officially recognized in Mississippi as a legal schooling option. You must submit a certificate of enrollment and teach a minimum of 180 days/year, otherwise you are free to educate your child(ren) in whatever way you choose.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of Mississippi requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 6 to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- non-public school (i.e. homeschool)
(see legal reference 1; 2-f and 3-c)
Notify The School District
The Mississippi Homeschool Law requires you to submit a certificate of enrollment for each child that you homeschool. This form must be submitted by September 15th, every year that you choose to homeschool.
NOTE: A certificate of enrollment is only available from your county’s school attendance officer. You must contact them and ask for a certificate of enrollment. You can find an up-to-date list of the school attendance officers in each county on the Mississippi Department of Education’s Compulsory Attendance page (they have a link in the left side-bar menu that will open an excel worksheet with all the attendance officers listed along with their contact information).
The information that you must include on the certificate of enrollment form includes all of the following:
- your child’s name, address, phone number, and birth date
- your name, address, and phone number
- a simple description of your educational plan
- your signature
NOTE: If you fail to send in the certificate of enrollment to your attendance officer by September 15th the law requires them to notify you and give you 10 days to turn it in (10 days from the day you receive notification).
(see legal reference 1)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Mississippi public school you must officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. First send in this Withdrawal Letter to notify your child’s school that you will be making the transition, then contact your county’s attendance officer for a certificate of enrollment form. You can withdraw your child at any time in the school year to begin homeschooling.
(see legal reference 1)
The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications. You must simply by the parent, guardian, or custodian of any child that you homeschool.
Hours of Instruction
The Mississippi Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 180 days/year.
However, as a non-public school you can count your school term as the amount of days it takes for your child to advance from grade to grade.
(see legal reference 1; 2-e)
The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific list of required subjects.
The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require homeschoolers to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Mississippi Homeschoolers
The state of Mississippi does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate. Only children who attend school must receive vaccinations, and homeschool is not considered a “school”.
(see legal reference 2)
Helpful Websites For Mississippi Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Mississippi homeschool websites:
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.