Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschool has been a legal schooling option in Montana since 1983. In 1991 the rights and responsibilities of parents who homeschool was added to the law for greater clarity. In 2004-2005 the Montana Homeschool Law was threatened with increased regulations which fortunately didn’t pass into law. Today Montana families hope to keep the homeschool regulations low by banding together against such legislation in the future.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of Montana requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 7 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- nonpublic school (parochial, church, private, or religious)
- supervised home study
- correspondence study
(see legal reference 1 )
Notify The School District
The Montana Homeschool Law requires you to notify your county superintendent of schools each year that you chose to homeschool. Your county Superintendent of Schools will provide you with a notification form to fill out and send in. They may also provide you with an attendance sheet.
The following link provides a list of all Montana county superintendents of schools and a link to any information they have available online: Montana County Superintendents of Schools
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Montana public school then you will need to officially withdraw them in order to begin homeschooling. Contact your child’s school and ask if they have a preferred method of withdrawal. They may provide you with a form or just ask for some specific information via email or letter.
The Montana Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
To homeschool a child you must simply be their parent, step-parent or legal guardian. You must also live in a home that meets local health and safety regulations.
(see legal reference 2:3)
Hours of Instruction
The Montana Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following minimum hours/year:
- 360 hours for kindergarten
- 720 hours for grades 1 through 3
- 1,080 hours for grades 4 through 12
(see legal reference 2:2 & 3)
The Montana Homeschool Law requires you to teach the basic educational subjects that are taught in Montana public schools.
(see legal reference 2:4)
The Montana Homeschool Law requires you to keep records of your child(s) homeschool attendance and immunizations.
NOTE: Your county superintendent of schools can ask to see your attendance and immunization records if they feel there is a need.
(see legal reference 2:1)
The Montana Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in yearly testing.
Immunization Law For Montana Homeschoolers
The state of Montana requires all students to receive vaccinations, including homeschool students. You must keep records of your child’s immunizations. Your superintendent of schools can ask to see these records if feel it is necessary.
(see legal references 2:1 & 4)
Helpful Websites For Montana Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit this Montana homeschool website:
- Attendance: Montana Code Annotated 20-5-102.
- Nonpublic School Requirements: Montana Code Annotated 20-5-109.
- School Year: Montana Code Annotated 20-1-301.
- Immunizations: Montana Code Annotated 20-5-406 & 20-5-403.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.