Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschool has been a legal schooling option in New Hampshire since 1990. In 2006 and 2012 important changes were made to the New Hampshire homeschool law making it more favorable for homeschool families. Today the regulations on homeschool families are fairly moderate. New Hampshire is also the only state that offers a K-12 tax credit scholarship available to homeschoolers.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of New Hampshire requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include the following:
- public school
- approved New Hampshire private school
- home education
(see legal reference 1)
Notify The School District
The New Hampshire Homeschool Law requires you to notify your district superintendent that you have chosen to homeschool. You must send notice within 5 business days of starting your homeschool program. To give notice simply send in a written letter including the following information for each child that you will be homeschooling:
- birth date
You can send in your own written letter or use this New Hampshire Letter of Intent.
NOTE: Sending your Letter of Intent to your school district superintendent is highly recommended although, you may also send it to the NH Commissioner of Education or to a non-public school principal.
NOTE: You must also notify your district superintendent and the NH Commissioner of Education when you decide to no longer homeschool. This must be done within 15 days of your termination date. The superintendent and Commissioner of Education will notify you that they acknowledge your notice within 14 days of receiving it.
(see legal reference 2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a New Hampshire public school then you will need to officially withdraw them in order to begin homeschooling. Contact your child’s school and inform them you will be withdrawing your child. It is a good idea to ask if the school has an official form for you to fill out. Remember to notify the school district by sending in a Letter of Intent after withdrawing your child.
The New Hampshire Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool your child.
You must simply be the child’s parent or legal guardian.
(see legal reference 3)
Hours Of Instruction
The New Hampshire Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific amount of days/year or hours/day.
The New Hampshire Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 11 subjects as part of your homeschool curriculum:
- History of the Constitutions of NH and the US
- Art and Music appreciation
(see legal reference 4)
The New Hampshire Homeschool Law requires you to a portfolio of homeschool records and materials for each child. This portfolio must be kept for 2 years after the end of instruction. This portfolio must contain the following items:
- a log of reading materials your child used listed by title
- samples of your child’s writings
- or creative materials used or developed by your child
(see legal reference 5)
The New Hampshire Homeschool Law requires each homeschool student to receive an education evaluation every year that they participate in homeschooling. The purpose of this evaluation is for you, the parent, to track your child’s educational progress year by year. You can fulfill the evaluation requirement in any of the following ways:
- Have your child’s portfolio reviewed by a certified teacher from a public or non-public school.
- Your child can take a National Student Achievement Test administered by a qualified person (scores above the 40th percentile count as educational progress).
- Have your child take a Student Assessment Test used by your school district (scores above the 40th percentile count as educational progress).
- Use an alternate evaluation method that is agreed upon by both you and your school district superintendent.
NOTE: You must keep a copy of your child’s evaluation. You will not be required to show your child’s evaluation scores to anyone, they are solely for your benefit in educating your child.
(see legal reference 5)
Immunization Law For New Hampshire Homeschoolers
The state of New Hampshire does not require homeschoolers to receive vaccinations. Only children attending school must be vaccinated.
Helpful Websites For New Hampshire Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these New Hampshire homeschool websites:
- Compulsory Attendance: NH Revised Statutes 193:1.
- Notification: NH Revised Statutes 193A:5.
- Definitions: NH Revised Statutes 193A:1.
- Required Subjects: NH Revised Statutes 193A:4.
- Records and Evaluations: NH Revised Statutes 193A:6.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.