Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of New Jersey requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- day school (one which gives equivalent instruction to public school)
NOTE: Homeschool is considered a day school.
(see legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The New Jersey Homeschool Law does not require you to notify your school district that you have chosen to homeschool.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a New Jersey public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Notify your child’s school and your district superintendent that you will be withdrawing your child. To officially withdraw your child fill out and send in this withdrawal letter. Notifying your school district will protect you from truancy charges.
(see legal reference #2)
The New Jersey Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Hours Of Instruction
The New Jersey Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific amount of days/year or hours/day.
The New Jersey Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific list of educational subjects as long as you offer equivalent instruction (not identical but equivalent, i.e. sufficient for their grade level).
The New Jersey Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep samples of your child’s school work to show proof that they are receiving an equivalent education. Only 2-3 years of sample work suggested.
The New Jersey Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For New Jersey Homeschoolers
The state of New Jersey only requires students who attend school to receive vaccinations. Homeschool students do not attend school therefore they are not required to be immunized.
Helpful Websites For New Jersey Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these New Jersey homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance: New Jersey Revised Statutes 18A:38-25.
- Withdrawing your child: New Jersey Department of Education Homeschooling FAQ’s #4.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.