Regulations For An Ohio Parochial Non-Charter Non-Tax School
NOTE: The following information is for educating your child at home under the parochial school regulations. This is different than educating your child at home under the Ohio Homeschool Law.
(for all the information below, see legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The Ohio Parochial School Regulations require you to send a notification report to the Ohio Department of Education every year. This report certifies that “your school” follows the regulations for Ohio parochial schools.
You must also report your student attendance (form by acchomeschool.org) to the Treasurer of the Board of Education for your school district within the first two weeks of the beginning of the school year. Attach a cover letter to your attendance sheet when you send it in.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already enrolled in and attending an Ohio public school you must officially withdraw your child before beginning to educate them at home. Contact your child’s school and ask if they have any specific forms for you to fill out in order to withdraw your child. The school needs to be aware that you will be setting up a parochial school so that they do not count your child’s absences as un-excused and charge you for truancy.
The Ohio Parochial School Regulations require you to have a bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) from a recognized college or university in order to teach your child at home.
Hours Of Instruction
The Ohio Parochial School Regulations require you to teach a minimum of the following hours/grade level:
- 455 hours/year for Kindergarten
- 910 hours/year for grades 1-6
- 1001 hours/year for grades 7-12
The Ohio Parochial School Regulations require you to teach the following 10 educational subjects:
- Language Arts
- History of the United State and Ohio
- National, state, and local government
- Physical education
- Fine arts; including music
- First aid, safety, and fire prevention
The Ohio Parochial School Regulations do not require you to keep records of your schooling.
The Ohio Parochial School Regulations do not require your child(ren), who are educated at home, to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Ohio Homeschoolers
The state of Ohio does not require students who are educated at home to receive vaccinations. Only children who attend a public or private school are required to be immunized.
(see legal reference #2)
- Parochial School Regulations: Ohio Administrative Code 3301-35-08.
- Immunizations: Ohio Revised Code 3313.671.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.