Oregon Homeschool Law

Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.

MODERATE REGULATIONS

Oregon Homeschool Law - Homeschool State Laws

 

Age of Required Attendance

The state of Oregon requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include the following:

  • public school
  • private school
  • parochial school
  • private tutor
  • homeschool

(see legal reference #1)

 

Notify The School District

The Oregon Homeschool Law requires you to notify your Education Service District (aka ESD) in writing within 10 days of beginning to homeschool.

NOTE: An ESD is a regional educational unit that provides programs and services to multiple counties’ school districts.

Most EDS’s have a form on their website that you can use to send notice. The table below has a link to all of the ESD websites that are available online. Most of the websites have a notification form for you to use and contact information for where to send your notification. Simply click on the link for your county below. Or you can use this ESD Notification Letter that also includes all the necessary information.

NOTE: The ESD’s for counties Gilliam, Jefferson, Sherman, and Wheeler, have limited information and you will need to use the Notification Letter in the link above.

Oregon Counties

B

Baker
Benton

C

Clackamas
Clatsop
Columbia
Coos
Crook
Curry

D

Deschutes
Douglas

G

Gilliam
Grant

H

Harney
Hood River

J

Jackson
Jefferson
Josephine

K

Klamath

L

Lake
Lane
Lincoln
Linn

M

Malheur
Marion
Marrow
Multnomah

P

Polk

S

Sherman

T

Tillamook

U

Umatilla
Union

W

W. Douglas
Wallowa
Wasco
Washington
Wheeler

Y

Yamhill

(see legal reference #2)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending an Oregon public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Fill out this withdrawal letter and send it to your child’s school. Make sure you also send notification to your ESD (as mentioned above). If your child’s school does not know that you are officially withdrawing them in order to homeschool, they may mark your child absent and charge you for truancy.

 

Qualify

The Oregon Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.

 

Hours Of Instruction

The Oregon Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific amount of hours or days per year.

 

Required Subjects

The Oregon Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific list of educational subjects.

 

Keep Records

The Oregon Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.

However, your ESD may request to see your child’s test results, so it’s a good idea to keep a copy of them in your records.

 

Testing

The Oregon Homeschool Law requires homeschool students to participate in testing during their 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 10th grade years. The test must be taken by August 15th of the end of that year.

Your child must be tested by someone who is an approved tester by the Oregon Department of Education. You are responsible for the full cost of each test, and you must keep a copy of your child’s test scores for each test.

NOTE: Children who are withdrawn from school in order to homeschool have 18 months before they need to be tested. For example, if you start homeschooling your child in 3rd grade the first required test would be at the end of 5th grade.

(see legal reference #2)

 

Immunization Law For Oregon Homeschoolers

The state of Oregon does not require homeschool students to receive vaccinations. Only students who attend public or private schools must show proof of immunization.

(see legal reference #3)

 

Helpful Websites For Oregon Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these Oregon homeschool websites:

(OHEN) Oregon Home Education Network

Oregon Department Of Education

Oregon Christian Home Education Association Network

 

Legal References

  1. Required Age of Attendance: Oregon Revised Statutes 339.010  and 339.030.
  2. Oregon Homeschool Regulations: Oregon Revised Statutes 339.035.
  3. Immunizations: SB132 2013

 

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *