Mississippi Homeschool Law


If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.

Required Attendance Age

The state of Mississippi requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:

  • public school
  • non-public school (i.e. homeschool)

(see legal reference #1; 2-f and #3-c)

Notify The School District

The Mississippi Homeschool Law requires you to submit a certificate of enrollment for each child that you homeschool. This form must be submitted by September 15th, every year that you choose to homeschool.

The following information is what you must include on the certificate of enrollment form:

  • your child’s name, address, phone number, and birth date
  • your name, address, and phone number
  • a simple description of your educational plan
  • your signature

NOTE: If you fail to send in the certificate of enrollment to your attendance officer by September 15th the law requires them to notify you and give you 10 days to turn it in (10 days from the day you receive notification). 

(see legal reference #1)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending a Mississippi public school you must officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. First send in this Withdrawal Letter to notify your child’s school that you will be making the transition, then contact your county’s attendance officer for a certificate of enrollment form. You can withdraw your child at any time in the school year to begin homeschooling.

(see legal reference #1)


The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications. You must simply be the parent, guardian, or custodian of any child that you homeschool.

Days of Instruction

The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool a specific amount of days/year.

As a non-public school you can count your school term as the amount of days it takes for your child to advance from grade to grade.

(see legal reference #1; 2-e)

Required Subjects

The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require your child to study a specific list of required subjects.

Keep Records

The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.

However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.


The Mississippi Homeschool Law does not require homeschoolers to participate in testing.

Immunization Law For Mississippi Homeschoolers

The state of Mississippi does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate. Only children who attend school must receive vaccinations, and homeschool is not considered a “school”.

(see legal reference #2)

Helpful Websites For Mississippi Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these Mississippi homeschool websites:

Mississippi Department of Education

Mississippi Home Educators Association (MHEA)

Legal References

  1. MS Code § 37-13-91.
  2. MS Code § 41-88-3.

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.

2 thoughts on “Mississippi Homeschool Law”

  1. One correction:
    The Mississippi homeschooling law doesn’t require the child be taught a minimum of 180 days a year.
    The person who wrote this misinterpreted that part of the law. (Everything else is perfect, though!)
    The 180 days/yr requirement is public schools, only. It does not apply to homeschoolers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *