Missouri Homeschool Law


If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.

Required Attendance Age

The state of Missouri requires your child(ren) to attend school from the age of 7 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:

  • public school
  • private school
  • parochial school
  • parish
  • homeschool

(see legal reference #1)

Notify The School District

The Missoui Homeschool Law does not require you to give notice that you have chosen to homeschool.

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending a Missouri public school then you need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. To officially withdraw your child fill out and send in this Missouri Withdrawal Letter to your local superintendent.


The Missouri Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.

Days of Instruction

The Missouri Homeschool Law requires you to teach at least 1,000 hours/year. You must spend 600 of the 1,000 hours teaching the required subjects, and 400 of the 600 hours must be at the “regular home school location”.

NOTE: You are not required to report your hours of instruction to anyone.

(see legal reference #1: 2.2b)

Required Subjects

The Missouri Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 5 required subjects:

  1. reading
  2. language arts
  3. mathematics
  4. social studies
  5. science

NOTE: You are not required to show proof that you teach these subjects.

(see legal reference: #1: 2.2b)

Keep Records

The Missouri Homeschool Law requires you to keep the following records:

  • a written record of the subjects you teach and the activities you participate in, and
  • samples of each child’s academic work (i.e. a portfolio), and
  • copies of academic evaluations for each child, or
  • any other records equivalent to the above

NOTE: No one will ask to see your records, they are for your own benefit.

(see legal reference #1: 2.2a)


The Missouri Homeschool Law does not require homeschoolers to participate in testing.

However, it does require you to evaluate your child’s academic progress. You can do this in any way that you choose. Remember to keep a copy of all evaluations as part of your homeschool records.

Immunization Law For Missouri Homeschoolers

The state of Missouri only requires school students (public, private, parochial or parish) to receive vaccinations or submit a waiver. Homeschool is not an official school therefore, homeschoolers are not required to receive vaccinations. 

(See legal reference #2)

Helpful Websites For Missouri Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these Missouri homeschool websites:

Families For Home Education

Midwest Parent Educators

Legal References

  1. MO Rev Stat § 167.031.
  2. Missouri State Statute for Immunization of School Pupils.

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.

7 thoughts on “Missouri Homeschool Law”

  1. Last night I was asked a question about the Missouri required hours. The question was…
    “We are homeschooling for just half a year. So can we cut the required hours in half since we are not doing a full year?”

    My response was…
    “Yes definitely!
    So that would translate into 500 hours total for half a year of homeschooling. At least 300 of those hours working on the required subjects, and at least 200 of those hours at your homeschool location.”

  2. Hello,
    I am double checking the required hours of instruction for homeschooled children in Missouri for 2018-2019 school year. I can’t seem to find this information. Do you know if it is still 1000 total hours?
    Thank you,

    1. Hello Jennifer! It’s a good idea to double check. The answer is YES! This requirement is still part of the regulations for children who are educated at home in Missouri. You can find a link to the law at the end of this post. This is the actual wording you will find in the law (Missouri Revised Statutes 167.031)…

      “Offer at least one thousand hours of instruction, at least six hundred hours of which will be in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science or academic courses that are related to the aforementioned subject areas and consonant with the pupil’s age and ability. At least four hundred of the six hundred hours shall occur at the regular home school location.”

      HSLDA also strongly recommends that you keep a daily log showing the hours of instruction you give your children every day. Although a daily log is NOT required, it’s the best way to prove you really provided each child with 1,000 hours of instruction if you are ever required to show proof of education. You may need to show proof of your child’s education in the future for a job or higher education application.

  3. My daughter has been in public school since kindergarten . She is now a freshman. I am pulling her out of public to homeschool. However, she would like to go back her senior year to graduate with her original class. The school said no. They said they will not accept homeschool credits. Is this legal?

    1. Lisa,
      In this situation I would highly suggest contacting the Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA.org) to get some legal advice and help. The membership fee is only $10/month for legal support.
      I don’t think the school can legally deny your daughter returning to school, especially if you follow the Missouri homeschool law; teach the required subjects, keep detailed records of her work and progress, and have her tested/evaluated every year that she homeschools. HSLDA deals with these types of situations all the time for people. They have a lawyer for each state who knows the homeschool law well and will contact the school for you in your defense.

      I hope this helps, good luck!

    1. Laura, sorry for the late response.
      You are not required to test your homeschooled child. Evaluations can be anything that shows their academic progress. There are a few books by Leslie Monroe on Amazon that are designed to help you navigate the evaluation requirement. Here are the links…https://www.amazon.com/Homeschool-Evaluation-Companion-Missouri-evaluations/dp/1545486336, https://www.amazon.com/Complete-Homeschool-Hours-Evaluation-Book/dp/1545486905.
      I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *