Nebraska Homeschool Law


If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.

In Nebraska, homeschool is recognized as a private non-accredited schooling option. Homeschoolers in Nebraska follow the same regulations as private schools, except for participation in home visits and testing. Rule 13 outlines the rules and regulations from the Department of Education for homeschoolers in the state of Nebraska.

Required Attendance Age

The state of Nebraska requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include:

  • public
  • private
  • denominational
  • parochial day school

NOTE: Homeschool is accepted as a form of private school and follows the same regulations except for the requirement to test and to have a home visit.

(see legal reference #1:1 & 2)

Notify The School District

The Nebraska Homeschool Law requires you to file for exempt status as a non-accredited school before beginning to homeschool. You must file an exemption annually; submission is due by July 15th of each year.

(see legal reference #3)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child already attends a Nebraska public school you will need to officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. In order to officially withdraw your child you will need to complete the following steps:

  1. Have an exit interview with the superintendent of your child’s school district.
  2. File a signed notarized release form with the Commissioner of Education.
  3. File for exempt status (see instructions above).

(see legal reference #2:1 & 6)


The Nebraska Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.

Days of Instruction

The Nebraska Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 1032 hours/year for elementary grade students and 1080 hours/year for high school students.

(see legal reference #4)

Required Subjects

The Nebraska Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 5 subjects:

  1. language arts
  2. mathematics
  3. science
  4. social studies
  5. health

(see legal reference #3:4)

Keep Records

The Nebraska Homeschool Law does not require you to keep any records of your homeschooling.

However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.


The Nebraska Homeschool Law does not require homeschoolers to participate in yearly testing.

Immunization Law For state Homeschoolers

The state of Nebraska requires students who are not homeschooling for religious reasons to receive vaccinations or submit a waiver. You must keep records of your child’s immunizations although you will not be required to show them to anyone.

The state of Nebraska does not require students who are homeschooling for religious reasons to receive vaccinations.

(see legal reference #3:d, 5)

Helpful Websites For Nebraska Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these Nebraska homeschool websites:

Nebraska Department of Education

Nebraska Christian Home Educators Association (NCHEA)

(The Home Educators Network Inc.) Nebraska Homeschool

Legal References

  1. Required Attendance Age: Nebraska Revised Statute 79-201.
  2. Nebraska Revised Statute 79-202.
  3. Non-accredited School Regulations: Nebraska Revised Statute 79-1601.
  4. Minimum School Hours: Nebraska Revised Statute 79-211.
  5. Immunization: Nebraska Revised Statuted 79-217, 79-221, Rule 13 (001.05, page 2).

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *