New Mexico Homeschool Law


If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.

Required Attendance Age

The state of New Mexico requires your child to attend school from the age of 5 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include:

  • public school
  • private school
  • home school
  • a state institution

(see legal reference #1)

Notify The School District

The New Mexico Homeschool Law requires you to notify the state that you will be homeschooling. You can do this electronically through the New Mexico Public Education Department’s website.

Fill out your online notification form within 30 days of beginning to homeschool for the first time. The state requires you to notify them each year that you choose to homeschool. For all successive years you must notify electronically before August 1st.

NOTE: If you move or if your child enters public school after homeschooling, you must update your information with the state.

(see legal reference #3)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending a New Mexico public school then you will need to officially withdraw them in order to begin homeschooling. Contact your child’s school to inform them that you will be withdrawing your child to homeschool. Ask if they have a specific form for you to fill out so that your child is not considered truant or fill out and send in this withdrawal form. Make sure to notify the state within 30 days of beginning to homeschool (see above).


The New Mexico Homeschool Law requires you to be the legal parent or guardian of each child that you homeschool. You must also have at the very least a High School diploma or it’s equivalent (i.e. a GED).

(see legal reference #3)

Days Of Instruction

The New Mexico Homeschool Law requires you to homeschool at the very least 180 days/year, or it’s equivalent in hours which translates into 990 hours/year for grades K-6 and 1,080 hours/year for grades 7-12.

(see legal reference #2;B and #4)

Required Subjects

The New Mexico Homeschool Law requires you to offer the following 5 educational subjects;

  1. Reading
  2. Language Arts
  3. Mathematics
  4. Social Studies
  5. Science

(see legal reference #5)

Keep Records

The New Mexico Homeschool Law requires you to keep records of the following;

  • your child’s immunization record or waiver
  • a copy of your proof of qualification (HS diploma, GED certificate or diploma for higher education)
  • a calendar/record showing you are homeschooling the minimum of 180 days/year

(see legal reference #1 and #3)


The New Mexico Homeschool Law does not require homeschoolers to participate in yearly testing.

Immunization Law For New Mexico Homeschoolers

The state of New Mexico requires all students attending public, private, parochial, and home schools to receive vaccinations or submit a waiver.

(see legal reference #1 and #6)

Helpful Websites For New Mexico Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these New Mexico homeschool websites:

New Mexico Public Education Department: Home Schools (NWPED)

Christian Association of Parent Educators – NM (CAPE-NM)

Legal References

  1. Required Attendance Age:NM Stat § 22-1-2 (O) & NM Stat § 22-12A-4.
  2. Homeschool Requirements: NM Stat § 22-12-2.1.
  3. School Year Length: NM Stat § 22-2-8.1.
  4. Required Subjects: NM Stat § 22-1-2 (E).
  5. Immunizations: NM Stat § 24-5-2.

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.

3 thoughts on “New Mexico Homeschool Law”

    1. Thank you for letting me know Joey. We switched servers recently and are working on updating all links to make sure they redirect correctly. I appreciate your help!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *