Ohio Homeschool Law


If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.

Required Attendance Age

The state of Ohio requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include the following:

  • public school
  • chartered non-public school
  • private school
  • non-chartered, non-tax supported school (aka an -08 school or parochial school)
  • homeschool

(see legal reference #1)

NOTE: You may educate your child at home as either a homeschool or a non-chartered, non-tax supported school. The regulations are different for these two options in the categories: parent qualification, testing, and record keeping. Make sure you read through both sets of regulations in order to choose the right one for you.

Read through the Ohio Non-Chartered, Non-Tax Supported School Regulations.

All of the information below is for the Ohio Homeschool Regulations.

Notify The School District

The Ohio Homeschool Law requires that you fill out and send in a Home Education Notification Form to your school district superintendent every year that you homeschool. The Home Education Notification Form will ask you for the following information:

  • the current school year that you would like to homeschool for
  • your name and address (telephone # is optional)
  • the name and address of the person who will be teaching your child if it is someone other than you (the parent)
  • full name and birth date for each child you will be homeschooling
  • a statement of assurance that you will follow all of the regulations pertaining to the Ohio Homeschool Law (all the rest of information below)
  • a brief outline of the curriculum you will be using for the year
  • a list of your textbooks, courses, or other basic teaching materials you will be using for the year
  • an academic assessment report (or test scores) for your child from the previous school year (if applicable)

Within 14 days of sending in your notification form your superintendent will respond with either a letter of approval to homeschool or a request for more complete information. If there is a request for more complete information then you will have 14 days to respond.

(see legal reference #2)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already enrolled in and attending an Ohio public school you must simply send in your Home Education Notification Form before beginning to homeschool. You can withdraw your child from school at any time after you have sent in this form.


The Ohio Homeschool Law requires you to have one of the following credentials in order to qualify to homeschool:

  • a high school diploma, or
  • a GED, or
  • standardized test scores that show you have a high school equivalent education

NOTE: If you don’t have any of these, you can still homeschool as long as you do so under the direction of another person (possibly a spouse or family member) who has a bachelor’s degree from a recognized college. You can homeschool this way until your child’s test scores demonstrate educational proficiency or until you acquire any of the three credentials mentioned above.

(see legal reference #2)

Days Of Instruction

The Ohio Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 900 hours/school year.

(see legal reference #2)

Required Subjects

The Ohio Homeschool Law requires you to offer the following 13 educational subjects as part of your homeschool curriculum:

  1. Language
  2. Reading
  3. Spelling
  4. Writing
  5. Geography
  6. History of the United State and Ohio
  7. National, state, and local government
  8. Mathematics
  9. Science
  10. Health
  11. Physical education
  12. Fine arts; including music
  13. First aid, safety, and fire prevention

(see legal reference #2)

Keep Records

The Ohio Homeschool Law does not require you to keep any records of your homeschooling.

However, it is a good idea to keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.


The Ohio Homeschool Law requires homeschool students to participate in yearly testing or academic assessments. To fulfill this requirement you may choose one of the following options:

  • a Nationally normed, Standardized Achievement Test; administered by an authorized person, or
  • a written assessment of your child’s educational progress based on a portfolio review of your child’s work; written by an authorized person

NOTE: An authorized person can be either a licensed or certified teacher, a person approved by your superintendent, or a person authorized by the testing company you use.

(see legal reference #3)

Immunization Law For Ohio Homeschoolers

The state of Ohio does not require homeschool students to receive vaccinations. Only children who attend a public or private school are required to be immunized or submit a waiver.

(see legal reference #4)

Helpful Websites For Ohio Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these Ohio homeschool websites:

Ohio Department Of Education

Ohio Home Educators (HIO)

ACC Homeschoolers

Legal References

  1. Required Attendance Age: Ohio Revised Code 3321.01.
  2. Ohio Homeschool Regulations: Ohio Revised Code 3301-34-03.
  3. Academic Assessment: Ohio Revised Code 3301-34-04.
  4. Immunizations: Ohio Revised Code 3313.671

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.

2 thoughts on “Ohio Homeschool Law”

  1. This is NOT true: “If your child is already enrolled in and attending an Ohio public school you must officially withdraw your child before beginning to homeschool.”

    Ohio parents have the right, by law, to homeschool their children; no separate withdrawal is needed. Our Notification Of Intent to homeschool is our statement that we are planning to homeschool and seeking an excusal from compulsory attendance. Ohio parents may begin homeschooling as soon as their NOI is in the mail or in the hands of the superintendent (or his/her staff).

    Again, no withdrawal from school is required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *