ALASKA: NO REGULATIONS
Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Alaska requires your child to attend school from the age of 7 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- private school
- personal certified tutor
- an educational experience approved by the school board
- state boarding school
- approved full-time correspondence study program
- homeschool (i.e. educated at home by a parent or legal guardian )
(see legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The Alaska Homeschool Law does not require you to notify the school district that you are homeschooling.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending an Alaska public school then you need to officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. You must fill out and send a withdrawal form to your child’s school before beginning to homeschool.
The Alaska Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Days of Instruction
The Alaska Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool a specific amount of hours/day or days/year.
The Alaska Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a list of specific educational subjects.
The Alaska Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education. 2 years worth of current samples is recommended.
The Alaska Homeschool Law does not require independent homeschoolers to participate in testing.
Alaska Immunization Law For Homeschoolers
The state of Alaska does not require independent homeschoolers to vaccinate their children. Only students who attend a public or private school, or are part of a correspondence program must receive vaccinations or submit a waiver.
(see legal reference #2)
Helpful Websites For Alaska Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit this Alaska homeschool website:
- Required Attendance Age: Alaska Statute Section 14.30.010 b(12).
- Immunizations: Alaska Statute Section 4 AAC 06.055.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.