Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschooling is not recognized as a legal schooling option in Kentucky. However since 1979 parents have been educating their children at home operating as non-public schools (a.k.a. private schools). The Kentucky Supreme Court’s ruling in the case of Kentucky State Board for Elementary and Secondary Education v. Rudasill (1979) is the foundation for parents legally educating their children at home.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Kentucky requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include the following:
- public school
- private school
- parochial school
- church regular day school
NOTE: The state of Kentucky considers homeschools as private schools.
(See legal references #1 & #2)
Notify The School District
The Kentucky Homeschool Law requires you to send a Letter of Intent to the district superintendent. This letter must be sent preferably 10 days before school begins and no later than 2 weeks after the beginning of the public school year. It is acceptable to send the letter later in the school year if you start to homeschool mid-year, or if you move into the area during the school year; in either case, you must be prompt. You must send in this letter each year that you choose to homeschool. This letter must include the names, ages, and addresses of all students that will be homeschooling.
(see legal reference #2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Kentucky public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Fill out and send in this Letter of Withdrawal to notify the school that you will be homeschooling. If you do not withdraw your child officially than the school may mark them as absent and charge you for truancy.
The Kentucky Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Hours Of Instruction
The Kentucky Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 185 days/year.
(See legal reference #3)
The Kentucky Homeschool Law requires you to teach the same subjects that are taught in the public school. The following 8 subjects must be taught in the English language:
(See legal reference #4)
The Kentucky Homeschool Law requires you to keep records of attendance and grades. Attendance records must kept in a register (this can be in a notebook, on a computer, or in any other way that is easily accessible for inspection). It is suggested by the Kentucky Department of Education that you keep a portfolio of each child’s work to easily show their academic progress. You must also keep records of each child’s grades and the courses that they take.
NOTE: Parents must be ready at any time to allow an inspection by a school director or an official from the Department of Education.
(See legal reference #4 & #5)
The Kentucky Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Kentucky Homeschoolers
The state of Kentucky requires all students to receive vaccinations. This includes students who attend public schools, private schools, and homeschools.
NOTE: The state of Kentucky does not require homeschooling families to submit their immunization records.
(See legal reference #6)
Helpful Websites For Kentucky Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Kentucky homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance Age: KY Rev Stat § 159.010 1(a).
- Legal Schooling Options: KY Rev Stat § 158.030 1(b).
- Private School Regulations: KY Rev Stat § 158.080.
- Required Subjects: Kentucky Department of Education Homeschool Information.
- Private School Records: KY Rev Stat § 159.040.
- Immunizations: KY Rev Stat § 158.035.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.