Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Nevada requires your child to attend school from the age of 7 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include the following:
- public school
- private school
(see legal reference #1 and #2)
Notify The School District
The Nevada Homeschool Law requires you to file a Notice of Intent with your school district’s superintendent of schools. You will only need to file this notice once unless your personal information or situation changes.
Depending on your situation, you must file the Notice of Intent either:
- before beginning to homeschool, or
- within 10 days after officially withdrawing your child from public school, or
- within 30 days of moving into the state of Nevada
The Notice of Intent will ask you for the following information:
- your child’s full name, age, and gender
- the name of the Nevada public school they last attended (if applicable)
- the name and address of each parent who is filing
- a prepared educational plan for your child (sample General Education Plan)
- a signed statement by each parent that they have a legal right to homeschool the child
NOTE: When your Notice of Intent is received by the school district they will send you a written letter of acknowledgement as proof that you are complying with the Nevada Homeschool Law. They will also keep a copy of this letter for their own records.
(see legal reference #4 and #5)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Nevada public school you must officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Contact your child’s school district and let them know that you will be withdrawing your child. Ask your school district if they have an official withdrawal form for you to fill out.
NOTE: Remember to file a Notice of Intent with your school district superintendent within 10 days after withdrawing your child.
The Nevada Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
You must be the legal parent/guardian of each child that you homeschool.
Hours Of Instruction
The Nevada Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific amount of hours/day or days/year.
The Nevada Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 4 subjects:
- English: reading, writing, and composition
- Social studies: history, geography, economics, and government
(see legal reference #3)
The Nevada Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
The Nevada Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Nevada Homeschoolers
The state of Nevada does not require homeschoolers to receive vaccinations. Only children who attend school must receive vaccinations or submit a waiver.
(see legal reference #6)
Helpful Websites For Nevada Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Nevada homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance Age: NV Rev Stat § 392.040
- Legal Schooling Options: NV Rev Stat § 392.070.
- Required Subjects: NV Rev Stat § 388D.050
- Notice Of Intent: NV Rev Stat § 388D.020.
- Educational Plan: NV Rev Stat § 388D.050.
- Immunizations: NV Rev Stat § 392.435
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.