Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Tennessee requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include;
- public school
- non-public school
- private school
- charter school
- church school
- church related umbrella school
- accredited online school
NOTE: A few of these legal schooling options allow you to have your child educated at home; homeschool, accredited online school and an umbrella school. However, the regulations in this post apply only to homeschool (i.e. a child receiving education in their own home under the direction/teaching of a parent or legal guardian).
(see legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The Tennessee Homeschool Law requires you to send a Notice of Intent to Homeschool to your local director of schools every year that you choose to homeschool (this form is provided by the Tennessee Department of Education).
(see legal reference #2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Tennessee public school you will need to officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. First fill out a Notice of Intent form and send it to your local director of schools. Then contact your child’s school and ask if they have any specific forms for you to fill out.
The Tennessee Homeschool Law requires you to have a high school diploma or a GED in order to homeschool your child.
(see legal reference #2: b(4))
Days Of Instruction
The Tennessee Homeschool Law requires you to teach a minimum of 4 hours/day for 180 days/year.
(see references #2 & #3)
The Tennessee Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific list of educational subjects.
The Tennessee Homeschool Law requires you to keep records of your child’s attendance. You are required to submit your child’s attendance records at the end of each school year to the director of schools in your school district. The Tennessee Department of Education provides an attendance calendar on their website that you can print off and use to record your yearly attendance.
You must also keep records of your child’s immunizations.
HSLDA also suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
(see legal reference #2: b(2))
The Tennessee Homeschool Law requires homeschool students to take a standardized test at the end of grades 5, 7, and 9. Your child can take this test at your local school or with a professional testing service.
NOTE: If your choose to have your child test with a professional testing service you will be responsible for paying for the test.
Your child’s test scores must be submitted to your local Director of Schools.
(see legal reference #2: 5)
Immunization Law For Tennessee Homeschoolers
The state of Tennessee requires homeschool students to receive vaccinations or submit a waiver. You must submit proof of your child’s immunizations, or your waiver, to your local Director of Schools with your annual Notice of Intent form.
(see legal reference #2: b(7))
Helpful Websites For Tennessee Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Tennessee homeschool websites:
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.