Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Age of Required Attendance
The state of Utah requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include;
- public school
- private school
- parochial school
(see legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The Utah Homeschool Law requires you to submit a signed and notarized affidavit to your local district. You only need to submit this affidavit once, you do not need to submit an affidavit every year that you homeschool. In response, the school district is required to send you a certificate, as proof of your child’s excused absence from school for the year, within 30 days. If your affidavit is already on file, the school district will send you a certificate of excused absence for your child by August 1st, every year that you continue to homeschool.
NOTE: The only time you would need to submit another affidavit is if you move into a new school district.
(see legal reference #2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. First submit your signed and notarized affidavit to your local school district. Then contact your child’s school and ask if they have any specific forms for you to fill out in order to officially withdraw your child.
The Utah Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Days Of Instruction
The Utah Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool for any specific amount of days/year or hours/day.
The Utah Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific list of educational subjects.
The Utah Homeschool Law does not require you to keep any specific records of your homeschooling.
HSLDA does suggest that you keep records of any correspondence you have with the school district and samples of your child’s work.
The Utah Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in yearly testing.
Immunization Law For Utah Homeschoolers
The state of Utah does not require homeschool children to receive vaccinations. Only children who are enrolling in public, private, or parochial schools must be immunized or submit a waiver.
(see legal reference #3)
Helpful Websites For Utah Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Utah homeschool websites:
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.