West Virginia Homeschool Law

Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.

MODERATE REGULATIONS

West Virginia Homeschool Law - Homeschool State Laws

 

Required Attendance Age

The state of West Virginia requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include;

  • public school
  • private school
  • parochial school
  • homeschool (i.e. approved school)

(see legal reference #1 and #2)

NOTE: The West Virginia Homeschool Law has 2 options; Option 1) homeschool with approval from your local school board, and Option 2) submit a Notice of Intent. HSLDA recommends homeschooling using the second option because you are not relying on the school board to give you permission to homeschool, or allowing them to regulate your homeschool program. Under option 2, your child is legally excused from required attendance.

The regulations below are for homeschooling under option 2.

 

Notify The School District

The West Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to send a Notice of Intent form to your local county superintendent or board of education. The Notice of Intent form must include the following information:

  • the name your child
  • your address
  • the age your child
  • a written statement saying that your child will study the required educational subjects (read the section on “Required Subjects” below)
  • a written statement saying that your child will take an annual educational assessment (read the section on “Testing” below)

NOTE: You must notify your county superintendent, or board of education, if your child stops homeschooling for any reason after submitting your Notice of Intent, or if you move out of the county. If you move into a new county within West Virginia, you must submit a new Notice of Intent form to your new county superintendent or board of education.

(see legal reference #2)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending a West Virginia public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. First fill out and send a Notice of Intent form to your local superintendent or board of education. Then contact your child’s school and ask if they have a specific withdrawal form for you to fill out.

 

Qualify

The West Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to have a High School Diploma or it’s equivalent (i.e. a GED) in order to homeschool.

(see legal reference #2)

 

Hours Of Instruction

The West Virginia Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool a specific amount of hours/day or days/year.

 

Required Subjects

The West Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to teach the following 5 educational subjects as part of your homeschool curriculum:

  1. Reading
  2. Language
  3. Matematics
  4. Science
  5. Social Studies

(see legal reference #2)

 

Keep Records

The West Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to keep copies of your child’s yearly educational assessments for up to 3 years.

However, if you choose testing option #3-A Portfolio Evaluation (see the section “Testing” below), you will need to keep samples of your child’s work in each of the required educational subjects.

(see legal reference #2)

NOTE: The only time you will be required to submit assessment results is at the end of your child’s 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 11th grade years. By June 30th of these grade years you will need to submit your child’s assessment results, for that year, to your county superintendent.

HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.

 

Testing

The West Virginia Homeschool Law requires homeschool students to receive yearly educational assessments. You must keep records of your child’s assessment results for up to 3 years. You have 4 legal options for your child’s yearly assessment method. These 4 options are:

  1. A nationally normed Standardized Achievement Test; your child must test in all 5 required subjects, and score above a 23%.
  2. Participate in a public school testing program.
  3. A Portfolio evaluation by a certified teacher; you must keep a portfolio of samples of your child’s work throughout the year and have a certified teacher review it. The certified teacher must give you a written statement of your child’s educational progress in each of the required educational subjects, based on your child’s abilities, and point out any areas that need improvement.
  4. An alternative academic assessment that is approved by your county superintendent.

At the end of your child’s 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 11th grade years, you must submit their yearly assessment results, for that year, to your county superintendent by June 30th.

(see legal reference #2)

 

Immunization Law For West Virginia Homeschoolers

The state of West Virginia does not require homeschool students to receive vaccinations. Only students who enroll in school are required to be immunized.

(see legal reference #3)

 

Helpful Websites For West Virginia Homeschoolers 

For local support and information visit these West Virginia homeschool websites:

Christian Home Educators Of West Virginia (CHEWV)

West Virginia Home Educators Association (WVHEA)

 

Legal References

 

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.