Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Wisconsin requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include;
- public school
- private school
- tribal school
- home study; correspondence courses or tutoring
- virtual charter school
- homeschool (i.e. home-based private educational program)
(see legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The Wisconsin Homeschool Law requires you to submit an affidavit (form PI-1206) with the Department of Public Instruction. This affidavit is only submitted online, the DPI no longer accepts paper copies of this form. You must submit this affidavit every year that you choose to homeschool on or before October 15th. If you decide to homeschool mid-year, after October 15th, you can submit the form at anytime.
NOTE: This affidavit will ask you to affirm that your homeschooling program meets all of the requirements that you will read about below.
(see legal reference #2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Wisconsin public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. First submit an affidavit (form PI-1206) to the DPI. Then contact your child’s school and ask if they have a specific withdrawal form for you to fill out. Once your affidavit to homeschool is submitted, you may withdraw your child from school at anytime.
The Wisconsin Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool your child.
Days Of Instruction
The Wisconsin Homeschool Law requires you to homeschool for 875 hours/year.
(see legal reference #3)
The Wisconsin Homeschool Law requires your child to study the following 6 educational subjects as part of their homeschool curriculum:
- Language Arts
- Social Studies
(see legal reference #4)
The Wisconsin Homeschool Law does not require you to keep specific records of your homeschool program.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education. They also suggest that you save copies of all of the completed affidavits (form PI-1206) that you submit over the years that you homeschool. The reason for this is that some employers or government agencies may need to see some sort of legal documentation as proof of your child’s education.
The Wisconsin Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in yearly testing or assessments.
Immunization Law For Wisconsin Homeschoolers
The state of Wisconsin does not require homeschool students to be immunized.
Only children who enroll in school are required to receive vaccinations or submit a waiver. Homeschool is a “home-based private educational program” and is not considered a school.
(see legal reference #5)
Helpful Websites For Wisconsin Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Wisconsin homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance Age: WI Stat § 118.15(1)(a) and WI Stat § 118.15(4)
- Notification: WI Stat § 118.167.
- Hours Of Instruction: WI Stat § 118.165(1)(c).
- Required Subjects: WI Stat § 118.165(1)(d).
- Immunizations: WI Stat § 252.04.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.