Wyoming Homeschool Law

Help keep HOMESCHOOL STATE LAWS up to date! If any of these post links aren’t giving you the intended information or if the information contained in this post is out of date, please let us know by leaving a comment below.

LOW REGULATIONS

Wyoming Homeschool Law - Homeschool State Laws

Required Attendance Age

The state of Wyoming requires your child to attend school from the age of 7 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:

  • public school
  • private school
  • parochial school
  • homeschool (i.e. a home-based educational program)

(see legal reference #1: a, and #2: a-v)

Notify The School District

The Wyoming Homeschool Law requires you to submit a list of curriculum to the local board of trustees in your school district. This list must include your curriculum choices in each of the required educational subjects (see the section “required subjects” below). You must submit a list of your curriculum every year that you choose to homeschool at the beginning of the school year.

(see legal reference #1: b)

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending a Wyoming public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. First notify your local school district that you will be homeschooling by submitting a list of curriculum to your local board of trustees (see Notifying the School District above). Then fill out a withdrawal letter for your child and send it to their school by certified mail.

Qualify

The Wyoming Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool your child.

Days Of Instruction

The Wyoming Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool for a specific amount of hours/day or days/year.

Required Subjects

The Wyoming Homeschool Law requires your child to study the following 7 educational subjects as part of their homeschool curriculum:

  1. Reading
  2. Writing
  3. Mathematics
  4. Civics
  5. History
  6. Literature
  7. Science

(see legal reference #2: a-vi)

Keep Records

The Wyoming Homeschool Law does not require you to keep specific records of your homeschool program.

However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.

Testing

The Wyoming Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in yearly testing or educational assessments.

Immunization Law For Wyoming Homeschoolers

The state of Wyoming requires homeschool students to receive vaccinations.

In Wyoming homeschools are considered a private school and the law requires all children attending a public or private school to receive immunizations or submit a waiver. However, you are not required to submit proof of your child’s immunizations to the school district, just to have them in your records.

(see legal reference #3)

Helpful Websites For Wyoming Homeschoolers 

For local support and information visit these Wyoming homeschool websites:

Wyoming Department Of Education

Homeschoolers Of Wyoming

Legal References

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.


2 thoughts on “Wyoming Homeschool Law”

  1. How and what would I need to do to homeschool my 14 year old autistic child this whole year hes been horribly bullied I’m done with public schools hes even being bullied by classmates in his special needs classroom it time for him to be able to feel safe learning we live in greybull Wyoming

    1. Mandy,
      I am so sorry to hear that your son is being bullied. My heart goes out to you and him. Also, forgive me for my delayed response.
      In order to homeshool you will need to follow these steps as outlined in the post above under “If You Need To Withdraw Your Child”…
      1. Submit a list of curriculum to your local school district (there is a link to a form you can use to do this under “Notify The School District” above).
      2. Fill out and send a withdrawal letter to your son’s school by certified mail (I have a link above for a withdrawal letter you can use under “If You Need To Withdraw Your Child”).

      I hope this was clear and helpful. Good Luck!

      Liza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.