If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Virginia requires your child to attend school from the age of 5 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include;
- public school
- private school
- denominational school
- parochial school
- private tutor/teacher
(see legal reference #1)
NOTE: If you have a Virginia Teaching Certificate you can educate your child at home under the private tutor law. The private tutor law requires you to do the following: 1) send your district superintendent a copy of your teaching certificate, 2) teach 180 days/year, and 3) keep a record of your child’s immunization records.
Notify The School District
The Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to send a Notice of Intent to your local school district superintendent to inform them that you have chosen to homeschool. This Notice of Intent is due by August 15th every year that you choose to homeschool.
NOTE: If you decide to begin homeschooling mid-year, or move into the school district after August 15th, you can send in your Notice of Intent at any time. Just make sure that the following year you send it in before the deadline of August 15th.
With your Notice of Intent you must include a list of the subjects your child will study during the coming year, and evidence of your qualification to homeschool (see the “Qualify” section below). Some school districts provide their own Notice of Intent. Check your school district website for a Notice of Intent form, or you can use the link above (VDE provides a sample form you can print off and fill out).
(see legal reference #2-B)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Virginia public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. First, fill out and send a Notice of Intent to your local school district (see “Notify Your School District” above). Then, contact your child’s school and ask if they have a withdrawal form for you to fill out. Otherwise, fill out and send in this Student Withdrawal Letter.
The Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to meet ONE of the following 4 qualifications in order to homeschool your child;
- Have a High School diploma or higher credential.
- Have a Virginia Teaching Certificate.
- Enroll your child in a correspondence course or distance learning program.
- Show evidence that you are able to provide an adequate education for your child.
(see legal reference #2-A)
Days Of Instruction
The Virginia Homeschool Law requires you to homeschool at least 180 days/year or 990 hours/year.
(see legal reference #2-A and #3-B(1))
The Virginia Homeschool law does not require your child to study a specific list of educational subjects.
The Virginia Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your child’s homeschooling.
However, you must keep a record of your child’s immunizations or an exemption.
HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
The Virginia Homeschool Law requires homeschool students to participate in yearly testing. Each year you must submit results of your child’s test to your local school district superintendent by August 1st. You can choose any one of the following 3 methods to fulfill this requirement:
- A Standardized Achievement Test; your child must score a 24% or higher.
- An educational evaluation or assessment of your child’s academic progress; this can be performed by a Certified Teacher (from any state) or someone with a masters degree, or higher, in an academic discipline.
- A report card or transcript; this can be from a institution of higher learning, a correspondence school, or a college distance learning program.
(see legal reference #2-C)
Immunization Law For Virginia Homeschoolers
The state of Virginia requires all students, including homeschool students, to receive vaccinations or have an exemption.
(see legal reference #4)
Helpful Websites For Virginia Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Virginia homeschool websites:
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.