Oklahoma Homeschool Law


If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.

Required Attendance Age

The state of Oklahoma requires your child to attend school from the age of 5 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include the following:

  • public school
  • private school
  • homeschool

(See legal reference #1)

Notifying the School District

The Oklahoma Homeschool Law does not require you to notify the school district that you are homeschooling. It also does not require you to allow an inspection of your home or your teaching methods by a school official.

If You Need To Withdraw Your Child

If your child is already attending an Oklahoma public school the state does not require you to give any notice or explanation before withdrawing your child. Although it is strongly suggested that you notify your child’s school so that your child is not considered truant. You can notify your child’s school and request copies of all your child’s school records using this Student Withdrawal Letter.


The Oklahoma Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.

Days of Instruction

The Oklahoma Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool a certain amount of hours or days within the year.

Although the state of Oklahoma strongly recommends that you homeschool for about 180 days/year. Public school hours of instruction are generally 180 days.

(See legal reference #2)

Required Subjects

The Oklahoma homeschool law does not require your child to follow any specific curriculum or study any list of specific educational subjects.

Although the Oklahoma Homeschool Law strongly suggests that homeschoolers study the same 10 educational subjects that public schools study as part of their educational curriculum:

  1. reading
  2. writing
  3. math
  4. science
  5. citizenship
  6. United States constitution
  7. health
  8. safety
  9. physical education
  10. conservation

(See legal reference #3)

Keep Records

The Oklahoma Homeschool Law does not require you to keep specific records of your homeschool program.

However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.


The Oklahoma homeschool law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.

Immunization Laws For Oklahoma Homeschoolers

The state of Oklahoma does not require homeschool students to vaccinate. Although, the state does require students who attend a “public, private, or parochial” school to receive immunizations or submit a waiver. Since homeschool is not categorized as either one of these this law does not apply to homeschool students.

(See legal reference #4)

Helpful Websites For Oklahoma Homeschoolers

For local support and information visit these Oklahoma homeschool websites:

State Department of Education

Oklahoma Homeschool

Legal References

  1. Required Attendance Age: Oklahoma Statutes Annotated Title 70, § 10-105(A)-(B).
  2. Hours of Instruction Recommendation: Oklahoma Statute Annotated title 70, 1-109.
  3. Subject Recommendation: Oklahoma Statute Annotated title 70, 11-103.
  4. Immunizations: Oklahoma Statutes Annotated Title 70-1210.191.

This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.

2 thoughts on “Oklahoma Homeschool Law”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *