If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Alabama requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
- church school
- parochial school
- religious school
- private tutor
NOTE: Prior to the law change in 2014 you had two options for homeschooling your child; 1) hire a certified tutor (or become certified yourself), or 2) homeschool under the supervision of a church school (i.e. cover school).
In 2014 you were given a third option, 3) homeschool your child under the private school law. This third option allows you to homeschool with less regulation from the state.
(see legal reference #1, #2, #3, and #4)
The following information is a summary of the law for homeschooling under option #3, the private school at home option.
Notify The School District
The Alabama Homeschool Law requires you to send an enrollment form to your local education authority (i.e. your local superintendent) by the 5th day of the beginning of the public school year, or before you withdraw your child to begin homeschooling. It must include the names of all the children you will be homeschooling and their address.
NOTE: HSLDA provides reporting forms for members that include a Private School Enrollment Form.
(see legal reference #5)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child already attends an Alabama public school then you must officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. First send in an enrollment form to your local school authority to notify them that you will be homeschooling (see above). Then, fill out and send this Alabama Student Withdrawal Letter to your child’s school.
The Alabama Homeschool Law does not require you to meet specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Days of Instruction
The Alabama Homeschool Law does not require you to homeschool a specific amount of days/year or hours/day.
The Alabama Homeschool Law does not require you to teach a specific list of educational subjects.
The Alabama Homeschool Law requires you to keep a record of your child’s attendance throughout the year. The state of Alabama does not require you to report your child’s attendance. This is only for your records.
It is also a good idea to keep records of your child’s immunizations or exemption and any legal correspondence you have with the school.
HSLDA also suggests that you keep enough evidence to show that your child is in fact receiving an education, about 2-3 years worth of sample work for each child (not a full portfolio but relevant samples).
(see legal reference #5)
The Alabama Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
NOTE: Senate Bill 38 also states that 2 or 4 year colleges in Alabama cannot deny admittance to homeschoolers simply because they were homeschooled. Students no longer need a GED in order to apply to college. However it is advised that students have evidence of their schooling when applying.
Immunization Laws for Alabama Homeschoolers
The state of Alabama requires all children who attend public or private schools to receive vaccinations or file an exemption.
(see legal reference #6)
Helpful Websites For Alabama Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Alabama homeschool websites:
NOTE: The link above takes you to the FAQ page from there make sure to click on the tab for non-public schools.
- Required Attendance Age: AL Code § 16-28-3.
- Private Tutor Regulations: AL Code § 16-28-5.
- Church School Enrollment: AL Code § 16-28-7.
- Private School at Home: AL Code § 16-28-1.
- Reporting Enrollment: AL Code § 16-28-7, Alabama Senate Bill 38 Section 1 (3).
- Immunizations: Rules of The State Board of Health 420-6-1.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.