If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Arizona requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
- charter school
NOTE: In Arizona homeschool is defined as “a nonpublic school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child or nonpublic instruction provided in the child’s home.”
(see legal references #1 and #2)
Notify the School District
The Arizona Homeschool Law requires you to file an affidavit of intent with your county school superintendent informing them that you will be homeschooling your child (form provided by Arizona Families For Home Education).
This affidavit of intent must be filed within 30 days from the time that you begin to homeschool. You only need to send this affidavit once.
This affidavit must be notarized if you will be mailing it in, otherwise most county superintendents will have a notary service in their homeschool office.
Most counties will also ask for an original or certified copy of your child’s birth certificate (no photo copies!). The county will make their own photo copy of your child’s birth certificate and give you back the original copy.
NOTE: Each county in Arizona has jurisdiction over the homeschool families within its borders. Therefore requirements may vary slightly from county to county. Most Arizona county websites have their own affidavit of intent for you to print off and fill out.
NOTE: If you choose to stop homeschooling and enroll your child in a public school then you must send a letter of termination to the county superintendent within 30 days after the change has taken place.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is currently enrolled in a public school then you will need to officially withdraw them in order to begin homeschooling. First fill out and send an affidavit of intent (like I mentioned above), then fill out and send a Student Withdrawal Letter to your child’s school.
Moving From One Arizona County To Another
If you move from one Arizona county to another you must file an affidavit of intent to homeschool in your new county of residence. They will also require a copy of your child’s certified birth certificate or other accepted proof of birth. Make sure you notify your previous county in writing that you are no longer homeschooling in that county.
(see legal reference #3)
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Days of Instruction
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require your child to homeschool a specific amount of hours/day or days/year.
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require you to keep specific records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
The Arizona Homeschool Law requires your child to study the following 5 educational subjects as part of their homeschool curriculum:
- social studies
NOTE: The state of Arizona will not require you to show proof that your child studied these subjects.
(see legal reference #4)
NOTE: The state of Arizona requires public schools to allow homeschool students to participate in interscholastic activities.
(see legal reference #5)
The Arizona Homeschool Law does not require yearly testing of homeschool students.
Immunization Laws For Arizona Homeschoolers
The state of Arizona does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate their children. Immunization requirements only apply to public, private or parochial schools.
(see legal reference #6)
Helpful Websites For Arizona Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit this Arizona homeschool website:
- Required Attendance Age: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (A).
- Definition of homeschool: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (G-2).
- Affidavit of Intent: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (2-3).
- Required subjects: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (A).
- Homeschoolers allowed to participate in interscholastic activities: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802-01.
- Immunizations: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-871 (10 & 12).
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.