If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Arkansas requires your child to attend school from the age of 5 to 17 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
- parochial school
(see legal reference #1)
NOTE: In Arkansas homeschool is defined as “a school provided by a parent or legal guardian for his or her own child.” (see legal reference #2)
Notify The School District
The Arkansas Homeschool Law requires you to file a Notice of Intent Form with the superintendent of your local school district every year that you homeschool. You must file this form with the superintendent before August 15th.
(see legal reference #3)
NOTE: If you decide to homeschool your child at a random time within the year than you must notify the superintendent and sign the waiver 14 calendar days prior to withdrawing your child (unless the superintendent gives you permission to withdraw them sooner than 14 days). If you decide to homeschool at the beginning of the spring semester than you have until December 15th, instead of August 15th, to notify the superintendent and sign the waiver for the next school year.
NOTE: If you are moving to a new school district within Arkansas you must notify the new superintendent and sign the waiver within 30 calendar days of establishing your residency.
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child already attends an Arkansas public school then you must officially withdraw them in order to homeschool. First file a Notice of Intent form to your local superintendent to notify them that you will be homeschooling (see above). Then, fill out and send a Student Withdrawal Letter to your child’s school.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
NOTE: The state of Arkansas will not allow you to homeschool a child if there is a sex offender living in your home (see legal reference #4).
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require your child to study a list of specific educational subjects.
Days of Instruction
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require your child to homeschool for a specific amount of days/year.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require you to keep specific records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
The Arkansas Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Arkansas Homeschoolers
The state of Arkansas does not require homeschoolers to receive vaccinations. The immunization requirements only apply to public and private schools.
(see legal reference #5)
Helpful Websites For Arkansas Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Arkansas homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance Age: AR Code § 6-18-201.
- Homeschool definition: AR Code § 6-15-501.
- Homeschool Notification: AR Code § 6-15-503.
- Homeschooling prohibited if a sex offender resides in your home: AR Code § 6-15-508.
- Immunization requirement: AR Code § 6-18-702.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.