If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Homeschool has never been officially recognized or regulated by the state of Connecticut. Nevertheless parents in Connecticut have been homeschooling their children for decades based on the right given them in the law to “show that [their] child is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction in the studies taught in the public schools.”
(See legal reference #1)
Over the years there have been attempts to regulate homeschool but these attempts have never resulted in any revisions to the law. In 1990 the Connecticut Board of Education created a list of suggestions for homeschoolers. These “Suggested Procedures of Home Instruction” were meant to help homeschool parents avoid truancy charges. Homeschool parents who choose to not comply with the list of suggestions must be prepared to show proof that their child is receiving an “equivalent education” if they are ever questioned by authorities.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Connecticut requires your child to attend school from the age of 5 to 18 years old unless, the parent or guardian can show proof of the child receiving an equivalent education.
(See legal reference #1)
Notify the School District
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to notify the school district that you have chosen to homeschool.
The Board of Education suggests that you file a Notice of Intent form within 10 days of beginning to homeschool. They suggest that the notice of intent be filed every year that you choose to homeschool. The notice of intent includes the following information:
- your name
- the subjects you teach
- how many days you teach/year
- your method of assessment/testing
- assurance that an “equivalent instruction” will be provided
NOTE: The purpose of filing this notice of intent is to show proof of equivalent instruction for your child. Remember THIS IS NOT A REQUIREMENT! You do not need approval from the state to homeschool your child. If your child is learning and progressing and you can document it in some way than you are within your legal rights.
(See legal reference #2; a-e)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Connecticut public school than you must officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Fill out and send in a withdrawal letter before removing your child from school.
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Days of Instruction
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to follow a set amount of days or hours of instruction.
If you choose to file a Notice of Intent form, it asks you to declare how many days in the year you will be teaching your child at home. An average public school year is 180 days.
The Connecticut Homeschool Law requires you to offer an “equivalent instruction in the studies taught in the public schools”. The 7 educational subjects that are mentioned in the law and taught in public schools are:
- English Grammar
- United States history and citizenship including a study of town, state, and federal governments
(See legal reference #1 and #2)
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
The Board of Education suggests that you keep a portfolio of your child’s education if you will be conducting an annual portfolio review with a school official.
HSLDA also suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
(See legal reference #1 and #2;f)
The Connecticut Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in yearly testing.
The Board of Education suggests that you and your school officials conduct an annual portfolio review to determine your child’s academic progress in the required courses. Again, this is OPTIONAL and NOT A REQUIREMENT. Even if you decide to send in a Notification of Intent this portfolio review is optional and for your intended benefit only.
(See legal reference #1 and #2: f)
The state of Connecticut does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate. Immunization requirements only apply to students who enroll in public school.
(See legal reference #3)
Helpful Websites For Connecticut Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Connecticut homeschool websites:
- Right of Parents to Prove Equivalent Education: CT Gen Stat § 10-184.
- List of Suggested Guidelines by Connecticut Board of Education: C-14 Guidelines.
- Immunizations: CT Gen Stat § 10-204a.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.