IOWA: NO REGULATIONS
If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Iowa requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old.
NOTE: If you enroll your child in a public or accredited non-public school before they are 6 years old they are considered to be of the required attendance age and must be officially withdrawn from school in order to begin homeschooling.
(See legal reference #1)
Legal schooling options in Iowa include:
- public school
- accredited non-public school
- competent private instruction
- independent private instruction
NOTE: Competent Private Instruction and Independent Private Instruction are both considered as homeschooling options.
(See legal reference #2)
The following information is for Independent Private Instruction only…
NOTE: “Private instruction” means instruction using a plan and a course of study in a setting
other than a public or organized accredited nonpublic school.
(see legal reference #3 (c))
Notify the School District
The Iowa Homeschool Law does not require you to notify the school district of your decision to homeschool (i.e. privately instruct your child).
However, the superintendent of the school district, or the director of the department of education, may send you a written request for an information report (form by Homeschool Iowa). Your report should include the following information:
- the primary instructor
- name of the authority responsible for the independent private instruction
- name(s) of the students enrolled
(See legal reference #3)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending an Iowa public school you will need to officially withdraw them before beginning to homeschool. Fill out and send in a Student Withdrawal Letter to your child’s school informing them that you will be keeping them home to privately instruct them.
The Iowa Homeschool Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool your child via private instruction.
Days of Instruction
The Iowa Homeschool Law does not require your child to study a specific amount of days/year or hours/day.
The Iowa Homeschool Law requires your child to study the following 5 educational subjects as part of their privately instructed homeschool curriculum:
- language arts
- social studies
(See legal reference #3)
The Iowa Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education.
The Iowa Homeschool Law does not require privately instructed homeschool students to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Iowa Homeschoolers
The state of Iowa requires all children to receive vaccinations.
However, if you homeschool under the Independent Private Instruction option you do not need to show proof of your child’s immunizations.
(See legal reference #4)
Helpful Websites For Iowa Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Iowa homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance Age: Iowa Code 299.1A.
- Legal Schooling Options: Iowa Code 299.1.
- Private Instruction: Iowa Code 299A.1.
- Immunizations: Iowa Code 139A.8.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.