KANSAS: LOW REGULATIONS
If any of this information is out of date or if the links are not redirecting properly please let us know by leaving a comment below.
The state of Kansas does not recognize homeschool as a legal schooling option. However, since 1986 parents have been educating their children at home operating as private schools. The Kansas Attorney General Opinion (No. 85-159) supports the legitimacy of home education under the private school law.
Required Attendance Age
The state of Kansas requires your child to attend school from the age of 7 to 18 years old. Legal schooling options include:
- public school
- private school
NOTE: In Kansas, homeschools are classified as non-accredited private schools.
(See legal reference #1)
Notify The School District
The Kansas Homeschool Law requires you to register your homeschool with the state board of education. You only have to register one time, registration is not required annually.
(See legal reference #2)
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Kansas public school, you will need to officially withdraw them in order to begin homeschooling. It is important to notify the school that you will be withdrawing your child so that you are not charged for truancy. Fill out and send in a Student Withdrawal Letter. After withdrawing your child you will need to send in a Student Records Request Letter to get a copy of your child’s student records and officially enroll them in your new private school (i.e. your homeschool).
The Kansas Homeschool Law requires you to be a “competent instructor”.
However, the local school board has no authority to determine if you are competent or not. The Kansas Attorney General has stated that homeschool parents do not need to be certified teachers. There are no specific requirements for teachers in non-accredited private schools.
(See legal references #1 & #3)
Days of Instruction
The Kansas Homeschool Law requires instruction “equivalent” to the time that public school is in session. This is equal to 186 days/year, 6 hours/day, for grades 1-11.
(See legal reference #4)
The Kansas Homeschool law does not require your child to study a specific list of educational subjects.
The Kansas Homeschool Law does not require you to keep records of your child’s homeschooling.
However you are encouraged to keep records that document their educational program and/or your child’s educational progress. Suggested material for record keeping includes:
- lesson plans and schedules
- a portfolio of schoolwork
- attendance records
- grades and/or test scores
The Kansas Homeschool Law does not require homeschool students to participate in testing.
Immunization Law For Kansas Homeschoolers
The state of Kansas requires all private school students to receive vaccinations or submit a waiver. You must submit proof of vaccination to the school’s “governing authority” (for homeschoolers the parent/guardian is the governing authority).
(See legal reference #5)
Helpful Websites For Kansas Homeschoolers
For local support and information visit these Kansas homeschool websites:
- Required Attendance Age and Legal Schooling Options: Kansas Statute Annotated 72-1111.
- Registration of Private Schools: Kansas Statute Annotated 72-53,101.
- Competency of Instructor: Kansas Attorney General Opinion 75-409.
- Hours of Instruction: Kansas Statute Annotated 72-1106.
- Immunizations: Kansas Statute Annotated 72-5215.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.