Regulations For A Louisiana Private (Non-public) School
Notify The School District
The Louisiana Private School Law requires non-public schools to submit attendance information online with the Department of Education. You must do this every year that you homeschool as a non-public school. Submission must be done by the 30th day after school begins.
Attendance submission requires the following information:
- school year
- name of your school
- contact information
- number of students enrolled
If You Need To Withdraw Your Child
If your child is already attending a Louisiana public school then you will need to officially withdraw them in order to begin homeschooling. Do not keep your child home without notifying the school; otherwise, the school may mark your child absent and charge you with truancy.
In order to officially withdraw your child you must send this Enrollment Notification Letter to your child’s school. This letter will make the school aware that you are “transferring” your child to your new non-public school.
(See legal reference #1 and #2)
The Louisiana Private School Law does not require you to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool your child as a non-public school.
Hours Of Instruction
The Louisiana Private School Law requires your child to study a minimum of 180 days/year.
(See legal reference #3)
The Louisiana Private School Law does not require your child to study a specific list of educational subjects.
The Louisiana Private School Law does not require you to keep records of your homeschooling.
However, HSLDA suggests that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program and samples of your child’s work in case you might ever need proof of your child’s education. 2 years worth of current samples is recommended.
The Louisiana Private School Law does not require students, who are educated at home under the non-public school law, to participate in testing or assessments.
Immunization Law For Louisiana Homeschoolers
The state of Louisiana does not require students who are educated at home to receive vaccinations; the immunization law only applies to students who attend school.
However there is one exception, home educated students that are 11 years old must submit proof (or a waiver) to the state Board of Education of “current immunization against meningococcal disease”.
(See legal reference #4)
- Private School Attendance Report; Louisiana Revised Statute 17:232 (C).
- Student Enrollment Notification; Louisiana Revised Statute 17:221.3 (B-2).
- Hours of Instruction; Louisiana Revised Statute 17:236 (A,B).
- Immunization Requirement; Louisiana Revised Statute 17:170.4 (A(1-c)).
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.