Regulations For Homeschooling as a Maine Recognized Private School
There are two types of Private schools in Maine: approved and recognized. Homeschools can operate as recognized private schools but they must have at least two students who are unrelated in order to do so. The following regulations for a Recognized Private School in the state of Maine have been established by the Maine Department of Education.
NOTE: for all of the following regulations see legal reference #1
Notify The School District
Letter To The Commissioner
The Department of Education requires private schools to send a letter to the Commissioner of Education giving notice of their intent to comply with the regulations. This letter must be sent within 2 weeks of beginning your private school or by October 1st. This letter must be sent every year.
In this letter you must state that your school will be complying with the following regulations:
- teach the required subjects
- examine and approve your teachers for competency
- teach the required hours of instruction
- comply with state and local fire, health, and safety laws
- notify the parents of all testing information
- send parents a progress report 4 times per year
- send enrollment information to the local superintendent within 2 weeks of beginning your private school or by October 1st
This letter must be signed by the Chief Administrative officer of your private school (whomever you have chosen to fill this position).
Letter To The Superintendent
Private schools must also send a letter to the Superintendent of their local school district. This letter must include the following information:
- name of each student
- residence of each student
- grade level of each student
You must send this letter every year.
Letter To The Parents
It is also a requirement that private schools notify parents every year of their commitment to fulfill all the regulations stated above.
The Maine Recognized Private School Regulations do not require teachers to meet any specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
Hours Of Instruction
The Maine Recognized Private School Regulations require students to study 175 days/year.
The Maine Recognized Private School Regulations require students to study the following 11 educational subjects as part of their curriculum :
- American history and geography
- Maine History
- civil government and citizenship
- fine arts
The Maine Recognized Private School Regulations require schools to create 4 academic progress reports each year and keep track of student grades and assessment results. You must also keep student immunization records on file.
The Maine Recognized Private School Regulations require students to participate in testing or assessments every year.
- Maine Recognized Private Schools; Guidelines.
This summary is for informational purposes only and is not given as legal advice. HomeschoolStateLaws.com does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above.